Delimitation panel for J&K, northeastern States set up-THE HINDU-07-03-2020


About six months after the State of Jammu and Kashmir was split into the Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh, the government moved on Monday to start the delimitation of Assembly constituencies in J&K. On a request by the Department of Legislative Affairs of the Ministry of Law and Justice, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on Monday named Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra as his nominee to the proposed Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir, an EC spokesperson said. As per the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, which was passed by Parliament on August 5 last year and came into effect on October 31, the Union Territory of J&K will have an Assembly, while Ladakh will not. The Act further said the number of seats in the Assembly of J&K would be increased from 107 to 114 after delimitation, on the basis of the 2011 Census.

The Law Ministry has issued an order to set up a Delimitation Commission for the Union Territory (UT) of Jammu and Kashmir and the northeastern states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland.
The Commission will be headed by former Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai and will have Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra as the ex-officio member of the Commission. Election Commissioners of the concerned States and UTs will also be members.

The EC had held a meeting in August 2019 to discuss the delimitation process and enrolled two officials who had worked on previous delimitation exercises, sources said.

Related Post